21 days left / Happy Saturday!

I have a love/hate relationship with Saturdays.  Actually, I love Saturdays but am programmed to think that I should hate it because I still wake up sans-alarm at 5:30am.

My daily pre-workout routine:

  • Wake up, weigh myself.  I either cheer or wallow for a short minute and then quickly get over it (I used to let this affect my entire day, but I realized that it’s a silly way to live life.  This could be an entry for itself, but I’m moving on.).
  • Drink two glasses of water.  It always has to be two.  I’m convinced that my skin looks better if I drink water right away in the morning.
  • Make my breakfast smoothie
  • Drink my breakfast smoothie while reading the newspaper or any magazine that has come in recently.
I’ve recently developed an excitement around my morning smoothies. I always have a scoop of Jay Robb protein powder (the only kind I’ll have because it’s sweetened with stevia), skim milk, greek yogurt, espresso or coffee and whatever fruit I have frozen or available.  When I’m feeling extra special, I’ll usually throw in a little almond butter.  It makes it THAT much better.
Chocolate Banana Blueberry Coffee smoothie
  • 1 cup nonfat milk
  • 1/2 cup 0% greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1 scoop Jay Robb chocolate whey protein
  • 1 frozen banana
  • a handful of frozen blueberries
  • 2 shots of espresso (made with my Nespresso)
I like smoothies because I don’t feel like I need to sit and wait for it to digest before I go work out.  I just drink it and go.  I never cramp or feel uncomfortable either.  I think I have a winner!

Today’s jog started at 6:40am.  That’s a little later that I would have liked but hey, it’s Saturday!  I ran my usual 5.26 mile path and I wanted to improve my time, but it still took me an hour.  I don’t and will never claim to be a runner so it still makes me happy.

Now I’m trying to decide if I want to go to the Fresh 52 Farmer’s Market at Tivoli Village before I have to work, but I really don’t think I have anything to get today.  I have tickets to the Panic at the Disco concert tonight and am really looking forward to it.  Hooray for Saturday!
Leave a Reply

