18 days / One of THOSE days.

I woke up to my least favorite feeling in the world: bloated and hormonal.  Let’s skip the fact that I woke up at 4:17am.  Not only could I not go back to sleep, but I was so upset about not being able to do so.  I turned on a new episode of Keeping up with the Kardashians and grew envious of beautiful Kim Kardashian and thought the entire time, “I want to look like that.  Why isn’t my hair as pretty and long?  Why doesn’t my body look like that?  Her nose is so perfect!” At least I had already acknowledged that I was hormonal.

I went out last night to see my cousin while she was in town.  We went to the Palazzo and ate at First Food and Bar.  Since I had already eaten my dinner, I enjoyed a single glass of wine (ohhh, that explains the gallon-of-water-in-my-abdomen feeling…) and the company of a very classy couple.

Enjoying the company of family born and raised in Australia does one thing;  It reminds me of how much less classy us Americans are.  Samantha and her boyfriend Wynton were so well-spoken, well-mannered, and enjoyable to be around.  They were naturally proper without thinking or an ounce of extra effort.

The moment she sat down and started speaking, my excitement for Australia grew exponentially.  Her accent is AWESOME!  I really couldn’t believe that I’m related to people that speak in such a great accent.  I thought I was doomed to a life of listening to unattractive Filipino accents during family functions.  I just wanted her to keep talking and I just wanted to keep listening.

Being in their presence I shamefully had to add another item on my To-Do list: practice better manners.  Although we can’t escape our tacky American-ways, I’m going to attempt to not stick out as much as possible.

Even though I’m in a mood right now, it’s only 5:39am and I know I would feel bad if I didn’t take the opportunity to run right now.  I’m really proud of how well I’ve been doing with my fitness.  So proud, that I will show you!

I map out my runs every day using mapmyrun.com.  I’ve turned into a cardio junkie when previously I cringed at the thought of treadmills or outdoor runs.  I highly recommend for anyone to document what they do fitness-wise, either using a website, an app, or a notebook.  I’ve noticed how important it is to document your progress and see how much you do week over week.  It pushes you to work harder for next time and not yourself slump.  My goal is to increase my mileage 10% by week.

I can appreciate that I know that nothing is really wrong with the world and it’s just me, but I’m going to take the opportunity today to finish up all of the clothes shopping I have to do before we leave, so after work today I’ll be hitting those malls hard!

Leave a Reply

