15 / TGIF Indeed

I’ve never been one to say TGIF because I have never found it necessary, but I say it at the top of my lungs, TGIF!  It’s the kind of week that I had to ask for an extra battery for my phone because I wouldn’t be able to make it through the workday (even though I have it plugged in to my car charger constantly).  It’s not the phone, either.  It’s just how frequently it has needed to be used this week.

I have a great weekend to look forward to though so all I need to get through is today.

It was a three-espresso-in-my-morning-smoothie kind of morning.

Chocolate/Almond Butter/Banana/Espresso smoothie

  • 1 scoop Jay Robb chocolate whey protein
  • 1/2 cup Fage 2% greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter (ok fine, it was a heaping tablespoon)
  • 3 shots espresso
  • 2 pinches xanthan gum (a natural thickener found in the organic section of most grocery stores)
I made my smoothie frozen yogurt thick today so I could eat it with a spoon.  It was thick, creamy and delicious.  I’m pretty sure that I tricked myself into thinking I was eating fro-yo.  What better way to start a Friday than to trick yourself into thinking you’re eating dessert.
Speaking of smoothies, for all of the parents out there that’s having trouble feeding their preschool age child vegetables or protein, may I suggest making them a “strawberry” smoothie..
Jaxson was extra picky yesterday and wouldn’t eat any of the food I prepared for him.  I asked him if he wanted a strawberry smoothie.  He got excited and said only if I made it yummy and just strawberries.  Pfft, yeah, ok.  Just strawberries.
Jaxson’s “Just Strawberry” smoothie
  • 5-6 frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries (Can you tell I have a lot of frozen fruit laying around?)
  • 1/2 cup Fage 2% greek yogurt (15g of protein)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
I got protein and vegetables in his fruit smoothie and he never noticed that he was having a meal in a glass.  He drank the entire thing and I grinned with satisfaction.
This week has been smoothie filled.  I’m hoping to head to the Red Velvet Cafe today either for lunch or dinner (or at any point while they’re open 😉 for a good end-of-week meal.  I’ve grown terribly obsessed with that place.
Leave a Reply

