A recipe for your weekend…

A recipe for your weekend…

I seldom ever follow recipes so it was really weird for me to create one using exact measurements.  Especially for recipes like granola, I find dried foods in the pantry that are at its last serving or foods that I know will taste good together.  Not only does it provide for variety and surprise, but you feel less wasteful using something you would have otherwise thrown away.  This is the first recipe I’ve ever written down/typed out, but I really should have been documenting everything I cooked for awhile now.  Having a blog keeps getting more useful!

“Whatever is in the Pantry” Granola

  • 3 cups organic oatmeal
  • 1 cup steel cut oats (not traditional to use in granola, but it makes it really hearty)
  • 3/4 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/4 sesame seeds
  • 1 cup pecans chopped
  • 1 cup dried fruit
  • 4 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4 tablespoons raw honey
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons agave nectar
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl.
Combine honey, agave nectar and unsalted butter in a bowl and microwave ~30 seconds, until butter is melted.
Add the rest of the wet ingredients into the honey mixture.  Stir until well incorporated.

Now everyone in the bowl!!  Stir until all of your oats are coated.
Spread onto a large baking pan lined with parchment paper.
Bake for 40-50 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.

While I waited for this to bake, I had an ahi poke salad with fresh oranges and arugula.
The ahi was awesome, but I did learn that I despise arugula by itself.

Back to the granola…

Make sure not to burn it (Duh.).  Check on it frequently and the second the oats get Filipino-tan brown, take that sucker out of the oven.

It’s really hearty so a little goes a long way.  I just topped some plain greek yogurt with the stuff and it was DELICIOUS!

If anyone actually makes this, let me know what you think!

Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

