7 / New friends

I made a new friend yesterday!  Her name is Mariam and she lives in Dallas, Texas.  I had the privilege of spending the day with her yesterday while she was in town and I had never clicked so well with someone in that short amount of time.  It made me realize that because my job had changed and I interact with less people on a daily basis, I’m more willing to socialize and get to know other people.  Mariam was great company to have yesterday.  I picked her up in the morning as she rode with me throughout my work day.  The day flew by as we listened to the NSYNC greatest hits album, gabbed about our shared interests, and expressed our love for desserts.  As the day would have it, we happened to be at the Fashion Show Mall at the end so I got to share my favorite Red Velvet Cafe treats with her.  I knew I found my soulmate when we received our cups of coffee, she said, “I love that they serve their coffee in Bodum glassware.”  I intend on keeping in touch with her and hopefully every time she’s in town, I’m selected to show her around!

On a separate note, I wore Diesel jeans for the first time since the 9th grade yesterday.  They’re seriously cut for non-developed middle school bodies and not for women with curveage.  Great looking jeans, but insanely uncomfortable.

I went to my first baseball game yesterday too.  The Las Vegas 51s!  That’s about all I’m going to say about that.  Because of the late game I had to attend, I forgot about dinner until it was time for me to go (unheard of) so I decided to make a suppertime smoothie.

 

Now onto something awesome I wanted to share with you all..

This letter, featured on a talk show earlier this week, is addressed to a woman from her future mother-in-law.

I was overly impressed with this letter.  There are too many that don’t realize how poor their manners are or are ignorant about their behavior.  This letter was criticized for being too harsh and disrespectful, but I think that it was obviously necessary.  For someone that would potentially be the mother to your grandchildren, it’s important to share values and trust that the children are being raised the way you find acceptable.  When you marry another person, you marry their family.  Kudos to future mom-in-law for laying the smackdown.  I will hope that I am just as up front as this woman when Jaxson finds someone good enough to take home to mom.

Letter from Carolyn Bourne to future daughter-in-law

Here are a few examples of your lack of manners:
When you are a guest in another’s house, you do not declare what you will and will not eat – unless you are positively allergic to something.
You do not remark that you do not have enough food.

You do not start before everyone else.
You do not take additional helpings without being invited to by your host.

When a guest in another’s house, you do not lie in bed until late morning in households that rise early – you fall in line with house norms.

You should never ever insult the family you are about to join at any time and most definitely not in public. I gather you passed this off as a joke but the reaction in the pub was one of shock, not laughter.

You regularly draw attention to yourself. Perhaps you should ask yourself why. No one gets married in a castle unless they own it. It is brash, celebrity style behaviour.

I understand your parents are unable to contribute very much towards the cost of your wedding. (There is nothing wrong with that except that convention is such that one might presume they would have saved over the years for their daughters’ marriages.)

If this is the case, it would be most ladylike and gracious to lower your sights and have a modest wedding as befits both your incomes.

One could be accused of thinking that Heidi Withers must be patting herself on the back for having caught a most eligible young man. I pity Freddie.

Leave a Reply

