I am not above jet lag.

Dear Jet Lag,

You win.

Love, Stephanie

Before even leaving for the other side of the world, I had already put it in my head that I was above jet lag.  I had travelled from the west coast to the east and back with no problem.  I will barely need one day to recover and can return to work in perfect condition by Tuesday.

Well, as a late night Clarissa Explains It All episode and all of Food-Network-On-Demand-watched-at-2-am can explain, I am not above jet lag.  Jet lag spit on me for even thinking it.

I was a worthless blob of travel-tired yesterday afternoon and it carried straight into the late-night.  I had never felt so exhausted.

I had gone to bed around 10pm and was overly ambitious to get right back into my old running in the early morning routine, so I set my alarm for 5:30am.  In preparation, I even had a post-run 2nd breakfast of steel-cut oats soaking in milk and a smushed banana (I soak them overnight because it takes a really long time to cook but can’t trade a packet of bleh instant oatmeal for the good steel-cut ones.).

The funky looking tupperware has my wonderful oats sitting and waiting for it’s destiny.

Anyway, I finally went to bed around 3 and needless to say, I did not make it outside for a run this morning.

The oatmeal did come in really handy though.  Because I wasn’t active in the morning, I didn’t need my caloric-bomb of a daily smoothie and decided to eat my oatmeal as my first breakfast since I didn’t need it as a second breakfast anymore (You follow?).

It was helpful because this…

(A poopy mess of overnight steel cuts oats, cocoa powder, banana and almond butter.  I guess even though I don’t crave the smoothie, I still use the same flavor profile.)

Saved me from this…

It was the boss’s birthday today so there was a Nothing Bundt Cake hanging out in the office.  It was carrot cake too, a flavor I hadn’t yet tried.  I almost grabbed a piece until I realized that I was still really full from breakfast.  I walked by it a couple times.  Each time, it got smaller and smaller.  I thought that maybe if I hung around the office long enough, I would get hungry and there would still be a piece left for me.  Nope!  I was still full from my superhero steel-cut oats!

I did, however, grab one of these to eat my packed lunch on later…

Why all the Glee themed party supplies and paper plates?  My boss bears a ridiculously striking resemblance to Mr. Schuester.  I had noticed it when I first met him, but chalked it up to just being a really big Glee fan.   I felt relieved today when some of the girls from the office chose a Glee themed birthday to further point out the similarities.

So to summarize my points…

  • You are not above jet lag.  No one is.
  • Make overnight steel-cut oats
  • Eat overnight steel-cut oats
  • Stay powerful against what is likely a moist, perfect, flavorful carrot bundt cake

In case you want to make your own overnight-steel cut oats…

Chocolate Banana Overnight Steel Cut Oats

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 ripe banana, cut into small pieces
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
Combine this all and let it sit overnight.  In the morning, microwave for about 2 minutes.
I topped mine with a tablespoon of almond butter for opulence.  I suggest you do the same.
Leave a Reply

