Welcome to Honolulu!

One of the most exciting parts of travelling to a new place is being able to take my morning run on a journey it’s never been.

Sorry Sydney, Honolulu wins this round.

This was, by far, the most pleasing run I had ever been on.

Travis and I were fortunate enough to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village here in Honolulu. As soon as our room was booked, I shot an email over to the hotel and asked them if there was a jogging trail near the hotel. They replied:

“There is a cement walkway that skirts the outer banks of our property and runs the majority of the length of the world famous Waikiki Beach that will provide you with stunning views during your jogs.”

Major f-ing understatement.

Hawaii is 3 hours behind Las Vegas time so I wasn’t surprised when I woke up at 3:19am time fairly alert. I forced myself back to sleep and made it until 5am. I sat in bed and behaved since the partner was still fast asleep. When I couldn’t take it anymore (at 5:10am), I got up and peeked out the window.


The sun was adorably peeking above the ocean. The more it rose, the more anxiousness grew. I suited up in my gear, fanny-pack and all. Travis had to go to work anyway so I knew I had some time to kill before he was back at the hotel.


I couldn’t have asked for a better morning. The weather was perfect (the weather here just IS perfect), the walkway was fairly empty, and the ocean served as my companion.

After a blissful hour and a half of exercise, I stepped away from the oceanfront and make my way into the city. I had a destination to make my way to.

I headed away from the ocean and headed toward a more residential area. This was definitely “head to work” time in Honolulu because the traffic was terrible. Lucky for me, the sidewalks were empty.

I had already logged 4 miles in, but my destination was another two miles away. Oh well, let’s go another two!


If you’re anybody that’s anybody, you know that you have to

have a Malasada when in Honolulu. It’s a very popular tourist spot and a frequent spot for tour buses to stop into.



The only, repeat: only, place to get them is from Leonard’s Bakery. A Malasada is a Portuguese-style donut without the hole, traditionally covered in sugar and sometimes filled with custard. The bakery was full of people and the line wrapped quite a way around. I stood in line and even though I already knew what I was going to order, I was still very tempted by the other sweets in the display.


When it was my turn to order, I grabbed two: one cinnamon and one haupia (coconut-custard).


I maneuvered my way through the tourists and found a place behind the bakery to dig into the goodies.


The cinnamon was good. It’s great to have them so fresh. It has a crispy shell and a soft and chewy interior. It’s melt-in-your-mouth warm and is superior to every donut I’d ever had. I finished about half because I had the idea down in my mind already.

But the haupia…


Oh the haupia…


I bit into this and instantly went to heaven. It had the same crispy outside as the cinnamon and would just as dough-y as the cinnamon, but the filling was incredible. I’m not a fan of custard or jelly filled donuts. I actually hate them, so I didn’t expect to like this. The custard was perfect. It wasn’t too sweet, had the perfect amount of coconut flavor, and complemented the dough so well.

I’m so glad that I made my way to have one of these.

Supposedly, it’s really important to fuel your body with carbs after a long workout. I’m sure this is exactly what they meant.

Wait, this was 2 miles away from my hotel? Does that mean that I have to run/jog/walk 2 miles to get back?

Oh, yeah.

I enjoyed it though. I walked through a better part of the city heading back and passed by cute little shops along the way.

I continued to enjoy Waikiki Beach, as everyone down here should.


Leave a Reply

