The Eiffel Tower

Sabrina, Travis, and I have been in Paris for the past two days.  I promised a few of you that I’d blog about my entire journey in London and Paris, but I want to skip to this part first.  We’ve had a lot of fun so far and I promise, I’ll recap it all.

I was in Paris, France a few days ago.  As luck would have it, I am positioned to see one of the most iconic structures (i.e. The Eiffel Tower) in the whole world in person.  All anyone really wants is to get a picture with it.   I did.  I didn’t really care that much about learning about it or going up the darn thing.  I just want a frame-able picture to put at my desk at work so my coworkers could go “Oh you’ve been to Paris?!  COOL!”

If I recall correctly, there was a Kodak commercial that introduced the long panoramic shots via an older lady whose only picture with the Eiffel Tower was one where her head was cut of; hence, the genuis idea of the panoramic shot (ohhh…).  My point is that everyone wants a picture with the Eiffel Tower.

Sabrina, Travis and I had already had a long journey in Paris.  We arrived at 9:20am (after boarding a train at 5:40am), walked over a calculated 15 kilometers, passing through many of the city’s famous landmarks and found ourselves dead tired by the time we got the Eiffel Tower.  It sucked being so tired.  First, our feet were bloody.  Next, my makeup was smeared.  How was I supposed to get the perfect Eiffel Tower photograph if my eyeliner was running and you could see the true tone of my skin?

I wasn’t really trippin’.  I’d photoshop some eyeliner on and use some artsy filter so you couldn’t see that my blush had already worn off.

Refreshing ourselves on the gardens beneath the towers, we collectively decided that we were at the Eiffel Tower and that it would be ok to wait in the hour+ long line to make it all the way to the top.  Supposedly it’s a really good view of Paris, something or other.

There are two ways to go up.  You can either go halfway up, to the second observation deck, or for 4 euros more, go all the way up to the top.  We’re rolling in the euros (not true, especially if you’re converting from dollars, btw), so we made the choice to go all the way up top.

It turns out that you stop on the second observation deck anyway.  We snapped a couple of pictures, and to me, the view was already spectacular.  Paris is beautiful.  The architecture is breathtaking and the city is visually full of history.

We then made our way to the top.  Repeat: I was at the top of the Eiffel Tower.

Here are a few more pictures that we took at the top of the Eiffel Tower.

No.  I did not know that was going to happen.

Had I known, I would have done a few things first.

  •  Brought a little bit of eyeliner, mascara, foundation and blush, just to touch up a bit.
  • Made sure the sides of my purse were symmetrical.
  • Put the shopping bag in my right hand down. (Contents were a car we bought for Jaxson, if you’re seriously worried about what was in there.)
  • Made sure my hair didn’t look like I hadn’t washed it in 5 days. (It’s ok.  I see the pictures.  It looks pretty dirty.)

The photographs speak for themselves.  The decision to wait in the line to escalate up to the top was actually mine and Sabrina’s rather than Travis’, so I was completely caught off guard.

Here’s the skinny.

When we arrived to the top, we were so surprised to see that the view was better than it was on the lower observation deck.  The city actually seemed closer.  You saw a better view of all of the buildings and to me, I found more detail.  Travis and I separated from Sabrina, unintentionally so we were forced to take a few self-portraits with the city as our background.

The top of the Tower is crowded.  It’s a smaller area housing a lot more people.  It was difficult to get a good shot, so Travis suggested we found a spot that wasn’t crowded.  It totally made sense to me then.  If we found a spot that wasn’t crowded, we could get a better picture, duh!  We found Sabrina, asked her politely to take a picture.  (Reference first picture in the series).  Quietly, Travis lovingly whispered, “You know I love you so much.”  I responded, “Yeah.”  Sure, my response was short and probably should have been a lot nicer in hindsight, but we’re taking a picture! I’ll talk to you in a second!

The rest was indescribable.  There is no way to explain what getting proposed to feels like, especially when you don’t see it coming (AT ALL.).  In the moment, you stop thinking and you only feel.  It’s overwhelming and even though you think you know what’s going on, you don’t.  I’m so thankful that Sabrina was there to take pictures, because I likely would have forgotten such an important moment in my life.

I remember is verbally expressing the apparent concerns in my mind at that time:

  • “That box better not be empty.”
  • “That better be a ring in there.”
  • (After seeing it wasn’t empty and that it was a ring) “Please don’t drop it.)

The first concern was in my mind because Travis and I had joked for awhile about proposals.  He would playfully grab the wrong hand or throw me empty jewelry boxes.  I remember that my first thought was that it was a playful joke and was going to be a psychotic pissed off mess if it turned out to be.

The second concern came out because I felt like I had x-ray vision and saw a superhero themed cufflink in the box.  It was specifically superhero themed.

The last silly concern was very legitimate.  I remember saying, “Please don’t drop it.” with tears in my eyes and actually looking down at the city below.  One of the pictures in the series actually shows me looking down at the city to remind myself why I told him not to drop it.

I remember the words coming out of Travis’ mouth were as sweet as ever, but ask me to recite them back to you and I would fail.  I remember the important question, but that’s about all.  I’m actually hoping he wrote it down somewhere so he could read it to me some time again soon.  I really wanna know what he said.

I turned to my sister slightly upset and yelled, “YOU KNEW?!” It turns out that she didn’t.

I turned to my left and it turns out that I had developed quite an audience.  Many women teary eyed, as Travis and I escaped an embrace, I heard an applause and cheers.  I heard many congratulatory comments and lots of “OMG AWW-like words”.  I continued to hear “Congratulations!” all the way down to the ground floor and in many different foreign accents.

If you didn’t read any of what I had written, here’s the summarized version: I got engaged at the top of the Eiffel Tower!

Wanna see the ring?

(Hehehehe this is my ring at the Louvre)

Oh, and here’s that picture in front of the Eiffel Tower I always wanted.

Lucky, lucky me.

If you want to leave a congratulatory comment, please comment on the blog instead of on Facebook.  I would love to keep your comments as close to this entry as possible so I can read them constantly and love you.

23 thoughts on “The Eiffel Tower

  1. Yay!!!!! I’m so happy for u guys and so knew u would get married one day. Travis is so lucky to have found you. Congrats… The ring is amazing btw!!

    ❤ Jen

  2. Nini— what an awesome experience for you! And what a perfect place (despite the crowd) to get proposed to. Hugs and kisses to both you and Travis. Congratulations!

  3. Oh I am so very happy for you. I have watch you grow up. From nursery to now I always made sure that your mom updates me on you and Sabrina. I can just imagine how your mom and dad feels and I feel the same. Soooooo happy. Well make sure I meet Travis when I get there oct. congrats.

  4. OMG OMG OMG!!! Congratulations to you and Travis! Such an amazing story for an amazing couple. Wishing you both a lifetime of happiness together xoxo Twinkle & Roly

  5. I could not be happier. You two belong together. I am so glad that your sister was there for pics.
    I love you both!!! I would have worried about him dropping it too!! Great Pics. Mom

  6. Travis and Nini – Congratulations. On the top of the Eiffel Tower. That is so romantic. Every girls dream. I am so happy for both of you.

  7. I read the blog after! Sorry hahaha. Needless to day I’m still really happy for you. I’m glad he made it special! Congratulations Steph!

  8. Pingback: Paris, je t’aime. | stephaniesalonga

  9. Congrats, Mrs. Geek Squad! I will never forget your maiden name of Metro PCS. In all seriousness though, you made me jealous and teary-eyed when you wrote about the way it feels to be proposed to. You guys seem so happy, and I hope you stay that way forever.

    Best wishes,
    Your Friendly, Neighborhood BBYMM @ 1044
    🙂

  10. Congratulations Nini and Travis!!! I am teary-eyed reading this big moment of your life, Nini. So overwhelmingly glad for both of you. Love is such a beautiful thing. A song is now playing in my mind, “Is this the little girl I carried?…” Wishing you the best.
    Tita Jojo

Leave a Reply

