Paris, je t’aime.

Paris, for more reasons than I can describe, will always have a special place in my heart.

We hadn’t even been in London for a full day at this point, but Sabrina, Travis and I had planned a short excursion to Paris while we were in Europe.  We boarded a 5:40am train to Paris and enjoyed views of France as the sun rose.

Once we arrived, we took a taxi (a new-ish Mercedes E-class, none the less) to our hotel.  We checked in, spent about 15 minutes in the room and headed off to explore.

In front of the Louvre.  T’was closed on Tuesday, but our hotel was a 5 minute walk away so we passed it a couple of times.

Fueled only by a croissant we had before boarding the plane, we were on a mission to find a place to eat that was quintessentially Paris.  We found a restaurant in the heart of ChampsÉlysées that fit the bill.  It was reasonably priced, with the exception of a few things.

That’s 5.40 euros for a small Coca-Cola.  Converted to dollars, that’s $6.96.  For a small botte of Coke.  Nah.

I had a Croque Monsieur.  It was pretty good.  No Coca-Cola for me though.  Only an equally expensive bottled water.  In hindsight, I should have had a coffee.

Ahh… the Louis Vuitton store.  The flagship of flagships.  The store was five stories tall and filled with monogram dreams.  The store even housed some of the most incredible pieces of LV jewelry, most I didn’t even realize existed.  I felt an obligation to buy something and to this day, I regret that I didn’t.

I had Instagram-ed it a few days before we had left, but I opened up my purse to look for my wallet and randomly read the side of my purse.

What?!  This address has been written inside my handbag the whole time!?

Unknowingly, the address was also inscribed on the belt Travis was wearing that day.  It feels almost like we were a part of history.  Practically.

Paris, if we already didn’t know, is a city filled with tourists and tourists and tourists.  Everyone is seen taking pictures with X in the background.  The Arc de Triomphe was proof of this.  When we approached the Arc, everyone and their mamas were taking pictures.  It was tricky getting a picture without someone else in the background taking a picture or unintentionally photo-bombing.  The three of us were in good spirits and we all had fun with it.  We still ended up with some decent pictures.

After the Arc de Triomphe, we made our way to the Eiffel Tower.  I’ve already told you all about that.

Here are a few more photographs from what I consider the most perfect journey through Paris.  I really was the lucky one here.  Sabrina and Travis like each other because the have to like each other.  For me, though, they are my true loves.  I wouldn’t have shared these days (especially the moment of my engagement) with any other people in the world.

 

 

 

One thought on “Paris, je t’aime.

Leave a Reply

